Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > In the Beginning Was the Word

In the Beginning Was the Word


All I Need is One Mic...

Yesterday, I listened to my dear friend, Katina Walton, speak about her new book, She Speaks: An Anthology of Poetry.  She quoted John 1:1 which says, In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  Wow, that made me think about the power of spoken word in a totally new way!  After all, God said let there be light and there was light (Genesis 1:3).  Psalm 33:6 says that The Lord merely spoke, and the heavens were created.  He breathed the word, and all the stars were born.  So eagerly searching YouTube to get my spoken word fix, I ran across a clip of Justin Reilly  (had no clue of who he was before now) performing his poem “Shooting Star” at a venue in Atlanta.  Ok, I don’t agree with everything he says but I  must admit, the guy has a nice flow and he makes some good points.  And most importantly, he’s using his words to make a difference.

Click on the news article below to read about this poet and how he uses his talent, notoriety and love of spoken word to make positive change.  He says that talking about what’s going on in the world and actually living in a way that is helpful to the world is sometimes a balancing act.  I agree so strengthen those calf muscles and get to stepping!  We can’t just talk, we must act!

ChUC

Shooting Straight by Justin Reilly:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKK91XiWHf8

The Daily Pennsylvanian :: Former Penn forward Justin Reilly voices change with poetry

She Speaks, An Anthology of Poetry

  1. Katina Walton
    January 19, 2012 at 12:46 PM

    I so thank you for allowing me to be a small part of the spark that moves you Everytime you hit the mic…I am in awe. If I did not personally know you ….I would have thought you were a vet! Keep shining SisSTAR! Love you and your light!

    • January 20, 2012 at 10:35 AM

      Thanks sis! haha – I’m still a newborn in this thing 🙂 But whatever is on the inside just comes out and of course I roll with it lol!

  2. January 19, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    Great! Thanks ChUC! I’m always looking for talented new spoken word poets.

    I had honestly never put John 1:1 in the context of spoken word, poetry or writing in general. Fresh new perspective. Much appreciated 😉

    • January 20, 2012 at 10:32 AM

      Hey Casey! I didn’t know you had a love for poetry. Let me know if you like anything of his. I was just searching and found his story. I never thought of it like that either, not until Katina sparked the fire 🙂

  3. January 19, 2012 at 4:51 PM

    That’s what’s up! Been a while since I’ve been to your site. Great look! And the Word was made flesh:-)

    • January 20, 2012 at 10:30 AM

      Thanks for finally getting back around to checking out the blog 🙂 You can’t go wrong with the Word!

  4. January 20, 2012 at 6:31 AM

    Great work as usual!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

