Home > Nyla Ray > Introducing Nyla Ray!!

Introducing Nyla Ray!!


Nyla Ray asks... What Should I Do With My Hair

Hello All!  Happy 4th day of the New Year!  Nope, there is no flash fiction this week.  Sorry  🙂   A new year means new beginnings right, so I wanted to share another project I’ve been working on for a few months that’s finally coming together.  It’s’ official, my first children’s book is close to completion!  Whoo-hoo!  I didn’t set out to write children’s books but believers understand that it’s our duty to do what the Lord tells us to do.  So anyway, here I am, staring at a cute little cartoon character with kinky-curly hair all day.  I won’t bore you with all the details yet, I just wanted to show you one of the draft pages.  So be on the look out for Nyla’s birthday party and the “What Should I Do With My Hair” picture book this spring.

Thanks a bunch!

Kimeko

  1. January 4, 2012 at 5:23 PM

    So happy I stumbled across this… I’m in the process of finishing my childrens book too (publishers have me under serious pressure) wanna say congrats, it’s not an easy process at all but yours seems to have come together really well… and it’s really refreshing to see a little girl with some colour on a book we can give to our kids … it’s only right that they see more faces that look like them in their childhood memories xxx

    • January 4, 2012 at 5:35 PM

      I’m so glad you stumbled across it too! I’m going to check in with your blog to see how you’re book is progressing. Wow, you have a publisher so SUPER congrats to you!! 🙂 I think it’s important that children are able to relate to positive images that look like them. Books, TV characters, cartoons, etc are a major part of childhood. Actually, I got my first black barbie doll at a white friend’s bday party. It felt really awkward because I was in the 3rd grade and everybody else was white and got white dolls. Her mom meant well but I had never gotten a black doll before! Ok, that was a total tangent but it left a lasting impression. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. January 4, 2012 at 6:28 PM

    Glad to see you doing some other things. Not that i don’t enjoy your writing as it is. I’m still waiting on that novel 😉

    • January 5, 2012 at 8:15 AM

      haha! Thanks Casey! I knew you would like the change up. Probably not what you meant but hey, it’s a start 🙂 I’m putting pen to paper and working on the novel a little at a time. It seems like it’s going at a pace of one word a day lol!

      • January 10, 2012 at 4:19 PM

        That’s how it goes sometimes. You can’t force it. Let it come naturally. I wrote mine over about a month time period and have yet to finish another one in the last year and a half, though I’ve got about 5 in the works.

        Inspiration strikes at the oddest moments. But when it does, have your pen and paper (or computer ready). I’ll be here when it’s finished 😉

        Casey
        soulgourmet.wordpress.com

      • January 11, 2012 at 6:46 PM

        You sound like me! I have many things going on at once but I don’t know any other way 🙂 I’m looking forward to your opinion on a finished product one day

        Wow a complete book in a month! The words must have spilled out of you like water! What’s the name of your book?

  3. neshonne
    January 5, 2012 at 5:36 AM

    Congratulations on the progress !! Iove Nyla Ray already!lol! Keep moving forward and Much love & support to you! I’m really looking forward to working with you!

    • January 5, 2012 at 8:17 AM

      Thanks Neshonne! It’s definitely time to get the ball rolling. I”m still drafting that letter. Time will light a fire under my butt soon 🙂

  4. January 5, 2012 at 6:25 AM

    Oh wow, I can see how that must have been awkward … it’s a difficult situation, like you said I’m sure she meant well but at the same time … eeek! lol eek is the only way I can describe it! Took me a long time to get the publishers to even listen to me but they’re listening now and that’s the main thing. Stay in touch, I’d love to have a closer look at your book some day xxx

    • January 5, 2012 at 8:24 AM

      Eeeek, is right! lol! Good for you! That’s an amazing accomplishment that eludes most people. I need to start sending out letters. I just can’t get my head wrapped around that task yet. I know so many self published authors that I automatically went that route without entertaining other alternatives. It has worked out well so far. When I get some preview copies I will definitely send you one and I will probably do e-book versions too. Will let you know! Talk to ya soon…

  5. sando
    January 5, 2012 at 8:37 AM

    Well Done ChUC!!! Can’t wait to read this one! Keep up the good work.

    • January 5, 2012 at 11:37 AM

      Thanks! And thanks for the continued support! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the book

  6. January 5, 2012 at 9:47 AM

    My grandmother used to get incensed when she would see my parents buying my sister white dolls to imagine her self through. She would lament that their negligence in not prioritizing cultural awareness would lead to the mis-diagnosis of ethnic identity. It is empowering for young girls to envision their own likeness instead of having to convert the image of self into blackness when it should be resoundingly so. I applaud your efforts and your conscientiousness, the reclamation of Afrocentric identity is paramount and the inception of ethnic identity is necessary. I am a fellow writer/Afrocentric, perhaps we can help better position one another.

    • January 5, 2012 at 12:01 PM

      Hi fellow writer/blogger/empower-er! 🙂 When I was growing up black dolls were hard to come by in Alabama LOL! It was a long while before I actually saw one. True, I don’t think any child should always live in “conversion mode”, constantly measuring themselves up to a standard that doesn’t have their best interest at heart. There is beauty in diversity, (race, skin color, hair texture, body type,etc) but we must be taught to love our own likeness first and foremost and then we can appreciate how others are different instead of feeling inferior by it. Having style or being fashion forward and having a negative view of what is naturally you are two totally different things. Unfortunately, things like dolls, TV shows, songs and peers play a huge role in shaping a child’s self-esteem and even how she sees herself. In 2012 I wish these things were a non-issue but they aren’t.

      Thanks for stopping by my little old blog! I will read more of your blog posts. You’re deep 🙂 I may not agree with everything but I enjoy hearing different perspectives on topics.

  7. Blithe
    January 5, 2012 at 3:02 PM

    That is adorable! I am so glad that a young girl can look into a picture book and see a self reflecting image of herself! Good luck with the completion of the project!

    • January 5, 2012 at 3:32 PM

      Thanks Blithe! I’m glad you stopped by! I really do hope that Nyla will be a positive image that young girls can relate to. Years ago, it was hard to find things that helped to promote a positive self-image for my own daughter.

      Will keep in touch!

      Kimeko

  8. Black Butterfly
    January 6, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    Hi, Nyla is beautiful, what great work sis! Kudos

    Black Butterfly

  9. January 8, 2012 at 12:24 PM

    I hope you remember me! Happy new year to you!

    • January 8, 2012 at 12:40 PM

      Of course I do! Happy new year to you too! How’s the blog life treating you? Any new poetry stuff?

      • January 8, 2012 at 2:38 PM

        Actually yes, Te’Kia Miller did a guest post about poetry and on the 2nd there was another Poetic License. Blogging is treating me well and I’m glad to see you still blogging!

      • January 9, 2012 at 3:11 PM

        We’ll have to keep in touch more!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

