Home > Flash Fiction > A Granny Draws… (Flash Fiction)

A Granny Draws… (Flash Fiction)


________________________________________________________________________________________
It’s the 6th month anniversary of Flash Fiction Tuesday!! You didn’t really think I’d make it this long did you?? lol! Well, don’t worry about it. I surprised myself too. The series has only been delayed once but hey, I can’t control tornadoes and week-long power outages. 🙂 So sit back, relax, don’t take life so seriously and enjoy my story about Ms. Mabel. Cya in two weeks!
ChUC
_________________________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________________________

“I swear, Ms. Mabel, I didn’t know she was one of your girls.”

Freddy stood in disbelief, clutching a suitcase in one hand and holding tightly to Constance with the other. If he had known she was one of Mabel’s girls he wouldn’t have looked at her twice and surely wouldn’t be standing on her porch.

Mabel pulled a pocket knife from her bosom and tapped it against her rocking chair. Freddy’s eyes grew bigger than silver dollars. Everybody in Harlem knew that Mabel was fast with a knife, even at her age. He wanted to step off the porch but couldn’t turn his back on old gray-haired Mable.

“Constance, tell Mr. Johnson goodnight.” Constance jerked away from Freddy then quickly disappeared into the house. Freddy smiled to hide his hurt. Mabel’s rocker squeaked with relief as she stood. “Mighty funny that I see you now after so long.”

Freddy tried not to breathe so she wouldn’t smell the potato liquor he’d just bought from Jim Harper’s place. “I just came to see Constance. I didn’t know this was your place.”

“Um-huh.” Mabel twirled her knife. Freddy’s eyes grew wider. He still wasn’t breathing. “I got lots of places. Got lots of girls that you keep finding too.”

“Maybe Constance better off with me.”

“Constance ain’t none of your concern!” Mabel lunged and pressed the knife handle into his neck. A warm smell of ammonia oozed down Fred’s leg along with his courage. “If you come near my girls again I’ll cut you from the tip of your brim to the scuff on your gators. Got it?”

Fred ran into the night and Mabel threw the knife behind him.

“Damn fool didn’t realize the knife had no blade. No wonder he falls in love with every hooker I got.”

  1. RocBoys
    August 24, 2011 at 11:20 AM

    Mother Mabel don’t play!!!

  2. sando
    August 24, 2011 at 7:14 PM

    “A warm smell of ammonia oozed down Fred’s leg along with his courage” ChUC you’re too much and your creativity has no limits! Love it!

    • August 25, 2011 at 9:08 AM

      haha! Well, I could have said that Mabel scared the piss out of Fred but I don’t think it would have had the same affect 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. September 2, 2011 at 7:52 AM

    Good one. Very visual. Short and sweet. I like.

  4. SnugglesTU
    September 7, 2011 at 5:03 PM

    That’s what he get… sounds like a Harpo to me. LOL.

    “I’ll cut you from the tip of your brim to the scuff on your gators”… made me think of Lakawana Blues. I loved it! 🙂

    • September 8, 2011 at 9:29 AM

      haha! @ Harpo!

      Can you believe that I’ve NEVER seen that movie! I need to have a movie night asap lol!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

