Home > Flash Fiction > Bird Song

Bird Song


Here’s another 300 word Flash Fiction Story. I used very little dialogue this time. Let me know what you think! BTW, the next installment will mark my 6 month “Flash Fiction Tuesday” anniversay. Yay! 🙂
~ChUC
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

If only we could fly away…


I heard awful squeals coming from the back porch. I immediately thought of Chubby and wondered what he had done. Of all my chil’ren he’s the only one ain’t got walking ‘round sense. Mama say he marked after his daddy. That makes me sad cause nobody should be like that no-good nothing.

“Chubby”, I hollered. “I hope you cleaning that porch light!”

He don’t answer back though. He never do. Like I said earlier, he kinda special. And he hate cleaning that light. Birds feel free to build a nest right there anytime they get the notion. But I can’t risk no fire, and he’s the oldest so he the one that gotta clean it. I couldn’t get a good drag on my cigarette before I had to go check on Chubby and that squealing.

I found Chubby staring at the light. The eggs the mama bird laid had hatched. It was sweet at first but because he ain’t right Chubby threw them baby birds to the concrete as hard as he could. Bird guts splattered everywhere. When he didn’t flinch I knew he was gone be a problem if I didn’t fix him right then and there. His daddy used to fling me around like a June bug on a string until my body busted every wall in the house. I couldn’t let Chubby turn into no monster like that. But after a few seconds of me fixing him all I could see was his rotten daddy. Mean. Hateful. Sick in the head. Couldn’t see the baby I birthed. I got four kids and can’t afford for none of ‘em to be crazy. I had to beat that crazy out of Chubby.

“I swear officer, I only meant to set him straight. He gone be alright. Ain’t he?”

  1. August 9, 2011 at 10:42 PM

    Since “admit writing proficiency and effective drama, but can’t actually say like without feeling terrible” is not an option offered, I’ll say like and learn to live with the fact that I like this story. Anyways, well done.

    • August 9, 2011 at 10:51 PM

      Thanks for reading Carson! I’ll lobby for more options 🙂 I’ll be sure to check out your page too!

    • August 9, 2011 at 11:02 PM

      Oh, the butterfly knife and beer one (ok can’t quite remember the title) is my kind of story! lol!

  2. August 9, 2011 at 11:37 PM

    ah thanks

  3. August 10, 2011 at 8:09 AM

    so did he get it from his daddy or from his mom and dad? 🙂 seems she has some issues herself.

  4. Tammy H.
    August 10, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    Gul, whatchu don did ta Chubby???!! Loved it! Keep on writing and enjoying life to the fullest! Another good one!

    • August 13, 2011 at 2:08 PM

      Thanks girl!

      Poor chubby! Sometimes we just don’t know how to handle the kids that need a little more attention and understanding

  5. August 10, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    loved it sis!!!

  6. Tre
    August 10, 2011 at 3:10 PM

    “I got four kids and can’t afford for none of ‘em to be crazy.” How many mothers/fathers have said or thought this. You still know how to catch one’s attention.

    • August 13, 2011 at 2:09 PM

      Thanks Tre! I actually think I’ve said something similar to it once or twice, minus about 3 kids though 🙂

  7. BuddyBoi
    August 10, 2011 at 5:30 PM

    So I guess he’s the “birdman” 🙂

  8. Morgan
    August 11, 2011 at 9:56 AM

    Deep ….and yet very realistic 🙂

  9. August 11, 2011 at 2:43 PM

    First…I was left speechless! Then I had to think about how many mothers see the bad of their children when the realtionship with the father dosent pan out….scary, sad, but true.

    • August 13, 2011 at 2:13 PM

      True. Sometimes, in the mother’s eyes, the child is a constant reminder of his jacked up paternal DNA….

  10. August 17, 2011 at 5:00 PM

    Nice story CUC. I really enjoyed it. The drama, the dialect, it was well rounded and captured the intent of the mother. Great job once again.

    • August 17, 2011 at 10:57 PM

      Thanks for stopping by Lena! I definitely enjoyed writing this one from the mom’s point of view

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

