Home > Flash Fiction > Cherries in the Snow (300 Word Flash Fiction)

Cherries in the Snow (300 Word Flash Fiction)


I studied the motion of my wife’s silhouette as she walked. Her hips swayed like a slow island rhythm and her stride was long but easy. The red pumps we bought in Paris made her stand like a goddess. My credit card bills proved that she always looked like one.

“Baby, are you going to the office again tonight?”

I’ve been telling her that I was either working overtime or doing extra projects in hopes of securing a bonus. Neither story was true.

“Yes, so don’t wait up.”

“Did you get our bank account straight? I need to replace some things that mysteriously went missing.”

I didn’t answer. Instead, I wondered if she used liner under her lipstick. I leaned in and kissed her hard, in that dammit I’m a man kind of way, to refocus my thoughts. She caressed my mustache-free face. I instantly noticed the dullness of her wedding ring. Guilt stirred in my stomach.

“I’m working on it”, I said, trying to dodge the money questions.

I hurried out the door and drove to Earl’s Bar in the less desirable part of town. I parked out back and hoped it would be my last night of darkness.

“Lord, if you’re gonna make a change in my life now’s the time.”

When no thunder roared I retrieved my wig, size 13 heels and #440 Revlon lipstick and changed inside the minivan. No one would ever suspect who or what I really was.

“Oooh-wee, that’s a tall drink of water”, someone said when I stepped inside.

As usual, I had successfully transformed. After last call I took the .22 from my purse and pointed it at the first waitress I saw.

“Empty out the register,” I screamed in falsetto. “Mama’s gotta pay some bills and visit the pawn shop!”

  1. neshonne
    July 26, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    Nice twist at the end…I thought for sure he was going to meet his man !!(lol!))

  2. Celly
    July 27, 2011 at 7:38 AM

    you got me on that one because i thought he was going to be a prostitute or an under cover brother 🙂

  3. Jibri donaldson
    July 27, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    Lol…though i was still disappointed that he was robbing ppl…it was such a relief that he was robbing ppl…that was storific

    • July 27, 2011 at 10:49 AM

      lol! Too funny! There were several alternatives for what he could have been doing 🙂

  4. Rocka
    July 27, 2011 at 3:49 PM

    I’m almost glad to know he was robbing people. LOL

    • July 27, 2011 at 3:58 PM

      C’mon now!! lol! A lack of currency will make you do some things you wouldn’t normally do 🙂

  5. Morgan
    July 27, 2011 at 10:16 PM

    Glad to see Im not the only one who thought he was cross-dressing bc he had a male lover…whew!!! But then again, robbing isnt good either!!! Lol! Loved it

  6. Keisha
    August 4, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    Kimeko, You are off-the-chain crazy! That was a trip! LMBO!

  7. SnugglesTU
    September 7, 2011 at 5:07 PM

    GIIIRRRLLL… you are truly a mess!!! But very talented!! I thought I knew, but I had no idea! This was too good!

    • September 8, 2011 at 9:30 AM

      Thanks for reading! When Huntsville had the crossing-dresser robber last week it freaked me out a little bit 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

