Home > Flash Fiction > Which Bridge to Burn…

Which Bridge to Burn…


Here’s the latest 300 word Flash Fiction story! Enjoy and please leave comments…
……………………………………………………………………………

Marshall was fidgety when he arrived to meet Kareema. How he handled the next hour was critical to his future as a writer. He adjusted the roses cradled in his arms and wondered what he would say when he saw her. It had been two months since their last night together. The night ended in a fight after Kareema read his texts, not from her of course.

“I hope she doesn’t want to discuss a relationship.” Marshall shuddered at the idea.

Kareema was already seated inside the restaurant. To Marshall she was a means to an end, definitely not wife material. He preferred women with strategically placed curves and a lot less mouth but he hated the way things ended and was glad she called. He really needed to repair the friendship. Even a seasoned writer could use the power of Kareema Waters. She was the most influential publisher of urban literature. She could take Marshall’s new novel to any Best-Sellers list with one phone call.

“It’s good to see you.” Marshall greeted her with a smile that displayed all thirty-two teeth and he quickly began to offer a mix of apologies and compliments. “I hope there are no hard feelings between us?”

Kareema motioned for the waiter before answering. “Hurry up and remove the eggs from that table. The smell makes me want to puke.”

“What a diva”, thought Marshall. “She used to cook eggs for me. Her attitude has reached a new level of annoying. Glad I dodged that bullet.”

He ignored her antics and decided to talk about his book.

“Did you like Harlem’s Bridge?” Marshall dove into his reason for being there.

Kareema gagged and mad-dashed to the bathroom.

Marshall’s voice trembled as he recalled that last steamy night. “Damn, how many weeks has it been?”

  1. Keisha
    June 28, 2011 at 9:00 PM

    LOL! I got sick at the smell of eggs too! That was damned good, Kimeko! I’m still laughing!

    • June 28, 2011 at 9:03 PM

      Thanks Keisha! Ewww, the smell of eggs cooking made me gag! Sometimes it still does 🙂

    • June 28, 2011 at 9:39 PM

      loved it!!! now i dont remember if eggs made me gag but i can def imagine! lol

      • June 28, 2011 at 9:56 PM

        Almost everything made me want to gag! But I still ate my fair share and I had the extra 60 lbs to prove it lol! Thanks for reading!

  2. June 28, 2011 at 11:09 PM

    Ba ba ba ba bahh…I LOVIN it!!!!

  3. Christy G. L.
    June 28, 2011 at 11:25 PM

    wow!! lol! oh my! Just when you THINK you dodged the bullet….so much I could say

    • June 29, 2011 at 11:45 AM

      Isn’t it funny how life works out sometimes. Its plan doesn’t necessarily jive with ours 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  4. Big Shripmin'
    June 29, 2011 at 10:17 AM

    Oh wow…baby mama perhaps! LOL

  5. sando
    June 29, 2011 at 4:09 PM

    It took me a minute to get this. I think it’s because I never had that experience LOL! Well done as always ChUC.

    • June 29, 2011 at 4:16 PM

      Well, now you will know the signs for future reference 🙂 And if an old girlfriend wants to talk to you 2 months after you’ve broken up, be prepared for anything lol!!

  6. Morgan
    July 1, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    Lol! Good twist, especially with him just thinking he dodged a bullet..not quite Marshall!!

    • July 1, 2011 at 9:54 AM

      Girl, I’ve had that ending in my head for a couple of months. I had just had to come up with a plot to make it work 🙂

  7. July 2, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    Good story 😉

    I guess now she has a vested interest in seeing his book get published.

    • July 4, 2011 at 12:28 AM

      Thanks for stopping by and reading! I will be sure to check out your page. You’re right, that could be another story lol!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

