Home > Flash Fiction > The Reunion

The Reunion


This week’s Flash Fiction Tuesday is dedicated to my Granny and my brother in honor of their birthdays. I miss you both but I know you’re watching over me! ~Love, Kim
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Flossie Mae Williams (June 2, 1938 – December 29, 2006)
Kurt Lavon Farrar (June 5, 1975 – August 30, 2006)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

During summer vacations the entire Mosley family drove down South to visit Granny and PawPaw. The reunions were filled with lots of love and fun on Mineral Lake. We kids played outside until we turned two shades darker and Granny always gave her only granddaughter a new barrette from her neatly wound bun. The smell of PawPaw’s ribs cooking on the grill brought flies as far away as Rhode Island and Granny’s peach cobbler made bees spit out their nectar in envy.

“Letta, Letta!”

My cousin, Xavier, screamed my name when my parents and I arrived.

“Let’s go swimming”, Xavier whispered before I could grab my suitcase.

We both took off towards the lake. Mama yelled, “Letta wait, we need to talk!” but I couldn’t stop my stride. Xavier’s giraffe legs were outrunning me and I wanted to beat him at doing a perfect cannonball. Fully clothed in a Care Bears t-shirt and Jordache cutoffs I jumped into the cool water. I sank to the bottom with a smile on my face knowing that I had beat Xavier. I kicked my legs to swim to the surface but I couldn’t move. My shorts were caught on something. I fought the water until my lungs burned, my vision blurred and I could kick no longer.

“Take my hand, Letta.”

Granny’s gray hair flowed like an exotic mermaid. She pulled me to the sand and I wondered why she never wore it down before.

“I will always love you, Letta. Remember that.”

“I love you too, Granny.”

“Letta”, Mama screamed as I spewed water from my lungs.

“Granny saved me, Mama.”

“That’s impossible, Letta. We’re here for your Granny’s funeral. I didn’t know how to tell you.”

I cried into my hands for a whole minute before I noticed the barrette there.

  1. Rocka
    May 31, 2011 at 11:13 PM

    ChUc, you beat that deadline…lol 😉 However, great story, it was touching!!! Oh, I see you rockin those bangs!

    • May 31, 2011 at 11:22 PM

      Yes sir, I barely made it!! 🙂 Thanks, it took a couple hours to write. I had too many words. Oh, the bangs were hurting ’em back then! lol!!

  2. Simply Tam
    May 31, 2011 at 11:46 PM

    Sooo beautiful and loving. Takes you back and leaves you feeling warm and endeared to the sacred love we share with family. I love this piece, ChUC! Please keep sharing your Light.:)

    • May 31, 2011 at 11:52 PM

      Hey Chica! Thanks for always having a kind word to share and 100 thanks for supporting what I like to call my art 🙂

  3. Valerie
    June 1, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    Loved it Kim, as always!!!

  4. June 5, 2011 at 7:38 PM

    Was that fact or fiction….shouldn’t be called “Flash Fiction”, maybe Flashback non-fiction! LOL….I loved it and almost cried. Thank you, Kimeko….YOu truly have a gift and I encourage you to keep on writing (although I know you will regardless). But anyway, keep going–you have a special style all your own and I know you will be going places soon. 🙂

    • June 5, 2011 at 10:44 PM

      haha! Nope, it’s fiction. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Random ideas just pop into my head. Sometimes they make a good story, sometimes not. Thanks for the encouragement and positive words! I don’t know where I’m going but I constantly trying to move forward 🙂 I’m hoping my flash fiction style works for my regular short stories. I guess we’ll see soon!

  5. July 19, 2011 at 3:52 PM

    too beautiful kim.

  6. September 4, 2011 at 9:03 PM

    Heartfelt and touching story. You are very masterful in your craft. Great job.

    • September 4, 2011 at 9:06 PM

      Thanks Lena! Can’t wait for you to review a book I’ve written one day! 🙂 I hope yours is coming along well…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

