Home > Flash Fiction > Tricky Situation…

Tricky Situation…


Marlon “Tricky” Ervin was a troubled kid from 256 Pelham Place, better known as Dale Mason Projects, where crime was frequent and roaches were like squatters. The locals say Tricky had been a handful all his life but now he stood eerily calm at the blackboard of his 4th grade class. He knew people wanted him to back away – to leave, but he was good at escaping into the world inside his own head. The rustling of feet and frantic whispers in the distance were no match for his determination so he continued to write.

“If I had been doing what I should have been doing then I would not be doing what I am doing now.”

With force, he completed the dreaded punishment sentence by banging the chalk against the blackboard for the punctuation mark. He stood back and admired his work.

“I’m not a bad seed like they say,” Tricky thought to himself. “I will finish all my sentences.”

With the same rhythm as previous times, Tricky stepped over the tattooed foot of Mrs. Stewart and erased the sentence. The cuticles of his dark fingernails were stained white as he inhaled chalk dust for the 88th time.

He wrote again, “If I had been doing what I should have been doing then I would not be doing what I am doing now”.

He wrote himself into a deeper calm, forgiving his actions.

…90, 91, 92, 93, 94.

Screams from outside seeped through the cracking windows. He knew no one was crying out for him so he wrote some more. “If I had been doing what I should have been doing then I would not be doing what I am doing now.”

…95, 96, 97, 98, 99.

At 100 he finally backed away and put down the gun.

  1. Katina
    May 17, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    Ok…So I admit I had to read it twice! Pure gritty! This shows the boldness that being hurt can produce….man!

    • May 17, 2011 at 10:30 AM

      Sometimes I can’t include all the info I want within the 300 word limit so a second read is a must. 🙂 You can never push anyone too far into a corner because you don’t know what they will do to get out of it! Especially a troubled kid…

  2. HotBoy
    May 17, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    Hmmmm….deep stuff. Thumbs up!

  3. May 17, 2011 at 10:50 AM

    Like this sis and yes it took me awhile to understand! lol

    • May 17, 2011 at 10:57 AM

      haha! Thanks sis! When you get used to the shortness of the stories you’ll start reading between the lines immediately so you can figure them out quicker 🙂

  4. May 17, 2011 at 1:16 PM

    Very good. I’m loving your stories so far. I look forward to reading more!

    Why are you limited to only 300 words, though?

    • May 17, 2011 at 1:45 PM

      Thanks Casey! The 300 word limit is just a challenge to myself to write a compelling story with minimum filler material.

      Thanks for reading!

      • May 17, 2011 at 1:55 PM

        I see. Thanks so much for sharing 😉

        I love challenges in writing. They help hone our skills. But I’d love to see you let yourself really go in your writing with no limitations or constraints. I’m sure it would be fantastic!

      • May 17, 2011 at 1:57 PM

        I’m working on a novel and putting the finishing touches on a collection of short stories. Neither have any word constraints lol!

  5. Tam
    May 17, 2011 at 3:30 PM

    BahBam!!! Dang, ChUC!!! Where in the world does your mind conceive of such notions? I think I’m becoming a Flash Fiction junkie! Two whole weeks before my next fix…but oh so worth the wait! LOVING IT and YOU!:D

    • May 17, 2011 at 5:08 PM

      haha! Ideas come from everywhere. The news feeds are full of inspiration sometimes! My original plan was to stop at 8 stories so technically the next one should be the last but I may try to do a couple more.

  6. Morgan
    May 18, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    Once again Kimeko, I was there…..I could envision myself as a little fly on Tricky’s shoulder. Girl u always pull me in w.only 300 words!!! I love it, keep up the beautiful work!

    • May 18, 2011 at 9:39 AM

      Thanks Morgan! Better to be a fly on his shoulder than I person in the classroom at that time 🙂 I have two weeks to come up with my next idea. I have no idea what the next story is going to be about!

      • Morgan
        May 18, 2011 at 11:11 AM

        If you don’t mind suggestions I know you touch on edgy topics how about something dealing with a teen pregnancy from either the young girl or guy’s viewpoint or even from the parents of one of the teens. Or a story about a cross-dressing/transsexual individual. Just a couple of thoughts, you always pull a vivid image out from the unexpected perspective instead of the normal/same point of view like other stories.

      • May 18, 2011 at 11:30 AM

        I love suggestions! Thanks! Sometimes it’s hard to figure out creative story lines and plots on a schedule. I touch on teenage pregnancy in one of my short stories for my book but I haven’t thought about a transexual story. That could be a great story. One of my favorite movies is Holiday’s Heart with Ving Rhames!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

