Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > I Knew Him Sensually

I Knew Him Sensually


After witnessing the destruction left behind by the outbreak of tornadoes in Alabama and watching lots of tornado coverage for a few days I needed to write something that was soothing to my spirit…. I haven’t posted in a while so I hope this poem finds everyone well!! By the way, Flash Fiction Tuesday has been postponed until next week…
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I saw him with my mind, not my eyes
I loved him with anticipation
I felt him with my heart, not my hands
I loved him without expectation

I breathed in his morning breath without hesitation
Every gray hair on his head was accounted for
His fingertips and toes were perfectly made

I knew the sound of his engine down the road
The smell of his cologne in a crowded room
His laughter in a stadium at a football game

On cold mornings
I comforted him with the heat of my thigh
I knew the hills and valleys of his taste buds
So I put Cajun seasoning in his rice

He was my 80% plus interest
Our connection was beyond interpretation
I knew him sensually
Almost as well as he knew me

Categories: Spoken Word & Poetry Tags: ,
  1. Higginbotham
    May 4, 2011 at 1:16 PM

    Very well written ChUC!!!

  2. Hoodboi
    May 4, 2011 at 5:30 PM

    tight 2 def!

  3. LadyQ
    May 4, 2011 at 11:35 PM

    Snap Snap Snap Sis!

  4. Simply Tam
    May 6, 2011 at 10:04 AM

    I absolutely love and adore this one! Exquisite imagery and imaginative yet subtle, settled wordplay. Divine!:)

  5. May 6, 2011 at 10:04 AM

    Nice. I like the part where it says, “So I put cajun seasoning in his rice.” Go’n girl!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

