Home > Flash Fiction > Home Going…

Home Going…


Hmmm, this one might be a brain teaser. Enjoy!!

“Georgia-Mae, you’re so fine you could make the devil preach the Gospel”.

Slick was slicker than the flea-market oils he rubbed into his hair but he actually got his name from running numbers back in the day. That was before he got busted during the Kentucky Derby and was forced to burn his books and move into the family house.

“Sorry to hear about your Mama.” Georgia-Mae offered her condolences.

Slick had spent the last two weeks on Ms. Ann’s porch sweet talking her oldest unmarried daughter. If he were still running the streets he wouldn’t have looked at her twice, not even with a belly full of his Papa’s corn liquor. Now things were different; he was all alone.

“So have you changed your mind yet?”

“I’m not marrying you, Slick. You’re no good. Go home.”

Slick’s eyes pleaded with Georgia-Mae, like a lame thoroughbred before the bang of the gun. He knew he could never go home. He couldn’t force himself to walk up the rickety old steps or smell the heavy scent of lard baked into the century old walls. Every room held someone’s soul so he couldn’t go back. Not alone anyway. He needed a family.

“I love you Georgia-Mae”, Slick blurted.

Georgia-Mae searched his face for a lie. “I thought you loved needle nose Mary.”

“Don’t be like that.”

“You smell like a horse stable. Just go home.”

“Home, can’t go home, not alone”, Slick thought to himself. That house gobbled up people. He was the only one left. Slick curled his fingers around the flesh of Georgia-Mae’s wrist. “I need someone to love, someone to love me. I wanna look forward to living, not dying. I need you.”

“Okay, but this is the last time. C’mon Ebony. We’re gonna go stay with your Daddy.”

  1. Ghon
    April 19, 2011 at 5:29 PM

    LOL, I love the twist on these short stories. All these people live in the same neighborhood (in my head). Like I see the Caddy rollin doing the street to pick ol girl off her porch who wants to get a way from the Juke Joint life! Good Stuff Kimmy!

    • April 19, 2011 at 5:38 PM

      I’ve never thought about it but they probably live in the same kind of neighborhood. 🙂 I’m working on a collection of short stories and the characters are actually from the same neighborhood even though they don’t know each other (I just started doing edits for that) so it’s funny that you even mentioned this. Hey, that Juke Joint life is no way to live 🙂

  2. Gillespie
    April 19, 2011 at 7:41 PM

    Good twist! I’ll admit, I had to read it twice. He reminds me of a dude name “Squeaky” from my old neighborhood 🙂

    • April 20, 2011 at 11:20 AM

      I bet Squeaky was a character! 🙂 It’s short so it doesn’t hurt to read it twice. At least you got it 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. April 19, 2011 at 9:14 PM

    Keep up the excellent writing! Looking forward to shooting the book cover!
    🙂

    • April 20, 2011 at 11:22 AM

      Thanks Richie! Get ready because that time is getting close. Can’t wait to powerchat about it! 🙂

  4. sando
    April 20, 2011 at 3:03 PM

    Yeah, I can’t wait for the book!!! Then I don’t have to wait for every other Tuesday 😉 Well done again ChUC!

    • April 20, 2011 at 3:37 PM

      Thanks! I need to put a time line on the book so I don’t procrastinate too long 🙂

  5. April 20, 2011 at 4:58 PM

    Awesome story. The ending was superb. Your characters always have fantastic names.

    • April 21, 2011 at 11:33 AM

      Thanks Lena! I’m a country girl so I have heard lots of country/southern names and nicknames 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

