Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > Wasted Breath…

Wasted Breath…


She asked me what I thought and I told her everything
Everything I had read and heard and seen and gone through myself
And I told her with a smile
With no hate, envy or ulterior motives
Just love
Being careful to think only of her and not myself
With each word I spoke she nodded her head in agreement
She even said an amen or two
But I knew
I knew as she fidgeted with her hair that her mind had left the room
I wasn’t really speaking the words she wanted to hear
But I never did
You don’t milk a cow expecting to drink juice do you?
But still
She would ask and I would give
Even as she began to dream up another plan
One more feasible to her
A plan very different from the one we discussed
One that would not meet my approval of course
Because it was rooted in fantasy, not reality
I saw what she could not see
But I could not force my hand with my friend
In the end
I hugged her, said goodbye and wished her the best
I felt the déjà vu of the conversation
I knew we would be having it again, soon
Since she had not listened or learned anything
Since the last blue moon

  1. BottomBoi
    April 12, 2011 at 12:22 PM

    …that’s why from here on out, when dealing with people like that, “the game is to be sold, not to be told.” 🙂

    • April 12, 2011 at 12:24 PM

      Yep, stop telling the same folks the same thing over and over again. If you sold the advice they would probably listen. People don’t respect free sometimes. 🙂

  2. Simply Tam
    April 14, 2011 at 8:10 PM

    Deliberate and soft spoken, yet powerful; Love it as usual! : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

