Home > Flash Fiction > Juke Joint Hoppin’

Juke Joint Hoppin’


“I heard that juke joints ain’t supposed to be classy. They’re dingy hole-in-the-walls where anything goes.”

“One day I’m gonna leave the juke joints behind. I’m gonna have a classy man too, one who takes me to places where folks eat fried chicken with forks.

Leeza, short in stature and high on dreams, sat gap-legged on the front porch. She confided in Clayton as the sun set on her excessive cleavage. Beads of moisture from her glass of sweet tea dripped onto her thigh. The sight of her made Clayton look away ashamed.

“If you didn’t show so much of those maybe you’d get a better man”, Clayton said while pointing at her chest. He was growing tired of giving her advice on men.

Leeza flicked the tip of her Black & Mild to the ground then hoisted up her assets. “These are the reason I get, umm, dates. “

A car horn made Leeza jump to attention. She smoothed her hair with her gold fingernails then motioned for Clayton to go fill her glass.

“I hope this one is the one”, Clayton said stone-faced.

He eyeballed the red Cadillac before going inside. Leeza adjusted her cut-off shorts and crossed the street. From the kitchen Clayton watched her peak inside the driver’s window. She gently banged her leg against the car door – smiling, giggling and showing too much skin like she always did. He didn’t bother to fill the glass. He stood at the window waiting – waiting for her to slide into the passenger seat like she always did. The wheels began to turn and Leeza yelled out to him exactly like she always did.

“I’m going to the juke joint for a minute. Go study your spelling words.”

Clayton waved to his mama and hung his head.

  1. Kristin Brænne
    April 5, 2011 at 1:59 PM

    ★★★★★

  2. Shenequa
    April 5, 2011 at 2:39 PM

    Juke Joint Hoppin’…Wow.

  3. easylifestyles
    April 5, 2011 at 2:51 PM

    I enjoy your writing very much thanks for posting this. You have a wonderful blog. Writing is a hobby I truly enjoy. It’s very relaxing and puts your mind at ease for that single moment in time.

    A Day at the Park – A Creative Story

    • April 5, 2011 at 3:15 PM

      I now it’s cliche but writing is very therapeutic for me. I love seeing how the characters unfold in my stories. I will definitely take a look at your work too. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. sando
    April 5, 2011 at 2:56 PM

    Well written ChUC! So much so that I overlooked the hint in the third paragraph. Flash Fiction Tuesdays is a welcome oasis in the desert of my day! Thank You!

    • April 5, 2011 at 3:17 PM

      I didn’t want to give too much of it away too soon 🙂 I’m glad you’re enjoying the flash fiction. It’s fun for me to write so I look forward to Tuesdays.

  5. Simply Tam
    April 5, 2011 at 3:10 PM

    Now that was some “Flash” fiction for real! I can definitely see these stories being novels! Great!!!

    • April 5, 2011 at 3:18 PM

      I will probably follow in your footsteps and write a novella (actually working on it already) 🙂

  6. RockSteady
    April 5, 2011 at 3:20 PM

    Let me get on the bandwagon too…great work Chuc!!!

  7. Ghon
    April 5, 2011 at 5:39 PM

    DOPE!!!! I REALLY liked this post! It was deep!

  8. Morgan
    April 6, 2011 at 8:21 AM

    Once again another hit!! Great work, intriguing and straight to the point!

    • April 6, 2011 at 9:22 AM

      Thanks Morgan! This one was actually pretty fun to write even though it went through about five revisions LOL!

  9. Marc
    April 6, 2011 at 4:55 PM

    Very creative Meko. Keeping pushing the pen!

    Marc

  10. April 9, 2011 at 3:22 PM

    Stopped in to let you know that your poem was published today on my site. Thanks again for allowing me to share it! Peace.

  11. Angela Monger
    June 25, 2012 at 11:43 AM

    Very vivid and descriptive…love your wordplay!

    • June 25, 2012 at 11:54 AM

      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m a very visual person so I love to make words move, if that makes sense..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

