Home > Flash Fiction > Seconds to Run

Seconds to Run


“Run Jon run! Run Jon run!”

The chant rang like an Olympic anthem in Jonathon Ellis’s ears as he sprinted. His breath was rapid and heavy and the air he pushed from his mouth whistled like a train, but he could still hear the pounding of his heartbeat. He was running like he had never run before and he paid no attention to who or what was behind him. His eyes focused on his victory mark a few feet away. His fists pumped and his nostrils flared like the cheetahs of Uganda. His feet touched the ground for only a fraction of a second between strides. Jon knew that eyes were all around him but he concentrated on running.

“Jesse Owens ain’t got nothing on me”, he thought between gasps.

Years of running was starting to catch up with John. His legs hurt and his chest ached. Either the people behind him were getting faster or he was getting slower. As he neared his destination he mentally timed his last steps before the jump.

“Move out of my way old lady!” Jon frantically waved his arms. Instead of plowing her to the dirty concrete, a stroke of consciousness caused him to swerve and dodge the grey haired grandmother. He heard a cracking sound as his ankle gave way. Contents of the purse flew high into the air as he stumbled to gain his footing.

“Hey you, stop!” A voice yelled out from close behind. Jon jumped through the subway doors just before they closed, exactly liked he had planned.

“Damn old lady!” He cussed his ankle and threw the empty bag to the floor. Maybe he would have better luck and slower cops on the red line to Harlem tomorrow.

  1. Katina
    March 22, 2011 at 10:09 PM

    Man this is descriptive writing at its finest. I can see this from your writing. Wow! Great!

    • March 22, 2011 at 10:13 PM

      Thanks! I’m a terrible painter/illustrator so I have to use words 🙂 I may change the writing style up next week.

  2. dwight pope
    March 23, 2011 at 8:27 AM

    Well!! Well!! Welll!! aren’t you the creative one!!

    • March 23, 2011 at 2:53 PM

      This story ended up extremely different from what I had planned it to be but it’s one of my favorites…

  3. Tamecia McDowell
    March 23, 2011 at 10:43 AM

    Hi Kimmie, once again you have taken us on a Flash Fiction Ride that is outta sight! I LOVE this one!!!

  4. sando
    March 23, 2011 at 2:43 PM

    Where do you get those beautifully lyrical toys?!!! Wonderful!

    • March 23, 2011 at 2:50 PM

      My inspiration usually starts with a simple phrase or thought and I build around that. I can’t just sit down and think of stuff to write. An idea has to continually gnaw at my brain 🙂

  5. March 23, 2011 at 11:11 PM

    Nice… just another rush hour in NYC… it took me back to my days in the Big Apple… not that I ever did that… 🙂 but I have seen it happened before. Anyway, well written!!!

    • March 24, 2011 at 8:46 AM

      Thanks for reading! I’ve never seen it happen but I’m sure it goes down a lot! I should have consulted you for realism 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  6. March 24, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    Jonathon Ellis got to eat too!
    Good Post!

    • March 24, 2011 at 11:25 AM

      By any means necessary I suppose! lol! What will he do when he knees and ankles completely go out for good? hmmmmm……

  7. March 25, 2011 at 12:02 PM

    Your story made me think of my visit to NYC. I could visually picture him running and dodging people on the streets of NY. I had a vivid picture of a subway in my mind as well. I was left wondering where was he running to? Nice story with a quick pace. I enjoyed it.

    • March 25, 2011 at 12:15 PM

      It’s funny because when I started writing I didn’t know where he was running to either 🙂 I just had the image of a sprinter in my head.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

