Home > Flash Fiction > Take Me Away…

Take Me Away…


It’s Flash Fiction Tuesday!!!!  Remember, I will post a new story every other Tuesday through the summer. I look forward to reading your comments.  Enjoy!!

Lights flashed all around Alexander’s head and body.  Beams of red intensified the look of terror in his eyes.  He was oblivious to his surroundings or lack thereof.  His sudden movements made me nervous but because of fear of what would happen I hesitated to say much.

Alexander cried into his knees.  “I told them I didn’t mean to do it.”

“No one blames you Alexander.  Did you remember to take your medicine today?”

“I just wanted to make smores like Papa did on the camping trip.  Now everyone’s gone.”

Whir, whir, whir… Alexander cupped his ears and violently shook his head.  He was moving too much.

“Make the sounds stop”, he screamed.  “They’re coming to take me away.”

Alexander stood and walked along the ledge as if it weren’t ten inches wide.  No amount of training had prepared me for what was happening.  He walked back and forth apologizing for the fire as the growing crowd below watched.

“Alexander, the sounds will stop if you come inside.  I have a new ghost story to tell you.”   His eyes softened and he reached a trembling hand towards mine.  He loved ghost stories.

Bang, bang, bang, boom… A stream of hallway light pierced the room’s darkness.  Still squeezing Alexander’s hand I motioned for them to stay back.  I didn’t believe in straight jackets.  Alexander climbed back inside my office; I handed him two pills from my pocket.  Within seconds he was calmer.  He sat at the table and drew circles on construction paper.

“Thanks for coming out Deputy.”

“You really need to board up that window Doc.  This is the 2nd jumper you’ve had this month.”

  1. sando
    March 8, 2011 at 11:31 AM

    I love the way we are dropped into these situations without any information. It makes me feel like a child on christmas morning unwraping this wonderful present! I love flash fiction! Just want to read more of this story…

    • March 8, 2011 at 11:43 AM

      Thank you! That’s the exact emotion I want the reader to feel when I think about what to write. Plus, with 300 words you have to piece some the story together for yourself which I think is fun. Still churning away on the novel so I’m sure some on my flash fiction characters will show up somewhere 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  2. March 8, 2011 at 11:48 AM

    Wow! Gripping, intense, realistic and AWEsome! Great piece of believable suspense! Love it!!! Your talent is unmeasurable:-)

    • March 8, 2011 at 11:50 AM

      I’m surrounded by all this greatness so something might be rubbing off 🙂 Thanks for being in the mix and giving me something to learn from! Oh, glad you enjoyed the story too.

  3. March 8, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    You had me on the edge of my seat for a minute…. Good one!

  4. Charles Owens
    March 8, 2011 at 2:57 PM

    Great story!! Can’t wait til next Tuesday now!!!!

  5. dwight pope
    March 9, 2011 at 1:03 PM

    The wall have torn down, welcome to the world of boundless potential!!!

  6. lena
    March 11, 2011 at 5:13 PM

    Wonderful story. I really enjoyed it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

