Home > Flash Fiction > Love Knocks Hard

Love Knocks Hard


Alexa stood at my front door drenched in blood. My heart sank into my house shoes. After ten long years, it had finally happened. I pulled her inside before my nosey neighbors saw anything. For her sake I needed to get her version of the story before I called the police.

“Where are the kids, is Joshua alright”, I asked feeling like I already knew the answer.

“Can I come home, Mama? Mama, I’m so sorry. You were right and I was foolish just like you said.”

Mama? Crap, she was going into shock. I wrapped her trembling body in a blanket and tried to examine her for wounds. There was so much blood. I couldn’t tell if it was hers or his.

“Mama, they won’t see us fight again. I promise.” Alexa’s blank eyes starred into mine as she pulled a .22 from under the blanket. I was so caught off guard that I jumped back in fear.

“Jeez Alexa! It’s me.” “Give me the gun”, I said as I reached out my hand. “Please, please don’t do this.”

Bang! In an instant the years of abuse ended. Tears soaked my cheeks and the smell of gunpowder burned the lining of my nose. An ear piercing shrill escaped from my mouth and hung heavy in the air as I held Alexa’s twitching hand. Covered in my sister’s blood, I prayed that Mama would meet her on the other side.

  1. February 22, 2011 at 8:11 PM

    Deep… and under 300 words

  2. Queen
    February 22, 2011 at 8:22 PM

    This made me want to call my sister! Great write…drama and suspense! And now I want to know Alexia’s entire story!

    • February 22, 2011 at 9:58 PM

      Thanks for reading Queen! Alexa’s story is that of young love gone wrong. Tragic but I hope to tell it all eventually…

  3. harun jibri
    February 22, 2011 at 8:29 PM

    wow…its like a hersheys kiss…so small but packed with richness and fulfillment…i am a fan fa sho

  4. hoodboi
    February 22, 2011 at 8:30 PM

    Thats whats up!!

  5. February 22, 2011 at 9:06 PM

    Kimeko,
    I remember when I read this the first time at Marc’s CD release party. I was shocked you are not already published with your own book. I love this appetizer and can’t wait to read the entire story–300 words or more! LOL!

    • February 22, 2011 at 10:00 PM

      Thanks Keisha! Maybe a publisher will knock on my door one day. Until then, there’s always blogging 🙂

  6. Sando
    February 22, 2011 at 11:44 PM

    Well done ChUC, LOVE your style!

  7. February 23, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    Wow… it’s enough to paint pictures in few words…. I love it.

    • February 23, 2011 at 9:56 AM

      Thanks Jeremy! I like short stories and writing them is definitely easier than writing 50,000 words for an entire book 🙂

  8. Morgan
    February 23, 2011 at 10:34 AM

    Wow, intense!!! Makes me wanna read the whole story!!! Great cliffhanger:-)

    • February 23, 2011 at 11:00 AM

      Thanks Morgan! I’m in the process of finishing it. It will be a part of my short story collection 🙂

  9. February 23, 2011 at 10:35 AM

    I say Damnit Girl, this is so deep and twisted. The young sister was tired of being abused and tragically turned it on him and herself. I say damn this is a start to a great screen play. I read it three times and felt like I was watching a movie with some sad jazz and sporadic voices throughout. Kimeko you have a vivid imagination and you need to keep pushing. I gonna make that beat asap. Im gonna make some music for you to just write short stories to. DAMNIT GIRL!!!!!

    • February 23, 2011 at 11:02 AM

      Thanks Dokk! You say the kindest things 🙂 Darla Middlebrook, a voice over artist, did a voice demo of my story “Summer’s Brown Sugar”. I can’t wait to share it with everyone. Maybe you can do the score for another story. I think that could be fun.

  10. February 24, 2011 at 12:06 AM

    ChUC! You aint nothin to play with! Excellent! I agree with Dokk, very vivid. So much was said that was unsaid. Short and powerful. PERFECT for an ADD cat like me. Imma keep checkin for you from here on out.

    • February 24, 2011 at 9:36 AM

      Thanks for checking it out. I’m glad you enjoyed the story! I know this was your first time stopping by the blog but I hope it won’t be the last. I will be posting flash fiction like this every other Tuesday. I like short reads too! My mind will drift in a heartbeat.. 🙂 I’m sure I’ll be seeing you soon!

  11. September 27, 2011 at 11:30 AM

    nice write! so many women suffer….and never ask for help until its too late.

    • September 27, 2011 at 11:37 AM

      The need for love or lack of love clouds judgment and distorts perception. Sometimes, whether we’re in a good relationship or a bad one, we can’t see what everyone else sees.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

