Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > Baby Queen…

Baby Queen…


After performing at an open mic to honor the memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., I was still on a poetic high several days later. I posted a short poem on Facebook and then decided to add a few lines to the original version and share here as well….

She sleeps in lip gloss and earrings
So she can dream pretty dreams
Shuns the simple things, opts for the extreme
Has goals smaller than the lumps on a pre-teen
Craves the attention to be seen
Those of you with daughters know what I mean
It’s time for some of us to intervene
Pull the societal pacifier – wean
…she has to be taught to be a Queen!

  1. #1ChiefRocka
    January 21, 2011 at 1:30 PM

    …snaps 🙂

  2. Hoodboi
    January 22, 2011 at 7:37 AM

    A beast!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. January 25, 2011 at 2:19 PM

    Dope lil homey!

  4. January 25, 2011 at 9:45 PM

    Hi ChUC! It’s me again here to bug you! Can I borrow this poem for an April post? It’s National Poetry month and I would love to feature this one. Of course you get the credit!

    • January 25, 2011 at 10:11 PM

      Hey Tom! Sure go right ahead. Did you ever use the last one? I can’t remember if I followed through with you on that 😦

      • January 26, 2011 at 7:31 AM

        Sunday Morning is scheduled for the April 4th Poetic License and I added this one to the April 9th, April Is National Poetry Month post. Thank you once again. I love your latest post too! My wife loves your boots!

      • January 26, 2011 at 10:45 PM

        Ok, sounds great! I look forward to it. In the mean time I’ll keep stopping by your site. Oh, thanks for checking out my latest post too, I appreciate the traffic.

        Your wife has great taste 🙂 Talk to ya soon..
        ~Kimeko

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

