Home > ChUC's Rants & Philosophy > YouTube – Marsha Ambrosius – Far Away

YouTube – Marsha Ambrosius – Far Away


An old friend just put me on to Marsha Ambrosius’s video for Far Away.  It touched me, in a way I wasn’t expecting.  I was prepared to see one of my favorite singers sing a wonderful song but what I got was a lesson.  I forced myself to look past the actors’ appearances, their sexuality and even my own personal opinions and beliefs.  What I saw was someone’s sibling, someone’s friend and someone’s child being ridiculed, hurt and tormented.  I am glad that my own trials and tribulations have made me more patient and understanding and less judemental though I’m sure I could do a lot better in other areas.  Hate and violence stem from insecurities, ignorance and fear.  In Arizona this past weekend several people lost their lives because of it and more are still figting for theirs everyday.   Maybe not against sociopaths or bullies with guns and hard fists but from hateful words, hurtful stares and debilitating emotional attacks.  As we approach the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday I pray that we all take heed to the basic priniciples of freedom and equality that he emphasized.  We can not pick and choose when those things apply.  Love one another, not just someone, but everyone.  Neither judgement nor vengeance belong to us.

Check out the link to the video,

ChUC

YouTube – Marsha Ambrosius – Far Away.

  1. January 13, 2011 at 10:53 AM

    I loved it. It made me think about it for a moment, and I realized that I can be judgmental at times, when it comes to people. We have to learn to look past their imperfections and learn to accept people for who they are. Thanks!

    Tuck

    • January 18, 2011 at 2:02 PM

      It’s really something that we all have to work on everyday. When we are very passionate about something we lose sight of the fact that someone else may have a totally different viewpoint. That viewpoint doesn’t have to be agreed with but that person still needs to be shown respect. Thanks for stopping by and keep doing what you do!

  2. #1ChiefRocka
    January 13, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    Amen!

  3. Tre
    January 13, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    We’re all imperfect, right nor wrong is subjective, because it’s about what’s acceptable and accepted by society or the environment we’re living. If all of our actions and thoughts were under a microscope, we would find out just how imperfect we all are and how much we live for approval by one another, instead of God. Great video, thanks.

    • January 18, 2011 at 2:00 PM

      Very insightful Tre! I broke my phone so I haven’t been able to get in contact with you. I hope all is well! Been doing any writing lately? 🙂

      • Tre
        January 20, 2011 at 8:40 AM

        Thank you Dear. Sorry to hear about your phone, hope you get another one soon. I have been doing some writing, and will happily share once I have a way to send it to you.

      • January 20, 2011 at 10:47 AM

        I got another one last month but I lost all my contacts! You can hit me up at kimekofarrar@yahoo.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

