Home > ChUC's Rants & Philosophy > My Hamster is Too Skinny…

My Hamster is Too Skinny…


Are you working your inner hamster like a field mule? I know I am! Recently, I’ve found myself doing lots of jaw jacking, hand shaking and so-called move making but still going 100 mph to nowhere; just like a hamster on a wheel.

Well today, during a moment of self-evaluation, I tried to figure out why I continue to run myself ragged and how I always manage to get myself into this same predicament. I determined that the only reasonable explanation was that I am clueless to what I want my final destination to be. It’s easy to mindlessly work on tasks because I actually look and feel busy which makes me feel good. But it’s much harder to size up those tasks and admit that I’m actually trying to get somewhere because then I may have to do some real work.

To put it in simple terms, instead of saying that I’m going to clean the entire living room from top to bottom on Saturday morning I might say, ‘I really need to clean up some time during the weekend”. Now, what did I do? I just gave myself an easy out! If I only dusted the coffee table on Sunday night then technically, I cleaned up and did what I said I would do, but it means nothing if the carpet still needs to be vacuumed, clothes need to be picked up and loose papers need to be organized. See, if you don’t commit to getting somewhere specific then anywhere you end up is fine but where you end up may not be the goal you truly wished for. Like Forrest Gump, it feels comfortable to simply concentrate on running, and running, and running to nowhere in particular. Again, exerting a lot of energy but accomplishing only a little.

We do it all the time in our relationships, our careers and our personal endeavors. We say we don’t know what we want but usually we’re just scared to want what we want. Are we being fair to ourselves if we never fully commit to what we really desire? Are our fears of failure, rejection or even success so strong that it keeps us stagnant? Maybe so. But one day I know I must admit to myself that the desires of my heart are important and possible if only I would give in to them, release my fears and rescue my inner hamster from the dreaded wheel.

Ready to let the hamster loose,
ChUC

  1. Hoodboi
    October 20, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    Kilt it!

  2. commondenominator
    October 20, 2010 at 4:54 PM

    Great read. It takes alot to self evaluate and admit your shortcomings. I agree. Too add to that, I think sometimes people also lack motivation…it could be you didn’t get motivated by your parents, your friends, your spouse, or significant other. Lack of it can cause fear which can cause you to settle.
    It helps when you know your purpose in life and being comfortable with that. Finding that purpose is key…

    • October 21, 2010 at 11:28 AM

      Thanks for the reply!

      True, but as an adult you must learn to motivate yourself whether it’s through reading, prayer, meditation, positive peer groups, mentors etc. It’s easier said than done without a support system but the key is in breaking the cycle of playing it safe and doing something different.

      When people realize (and others start preaching) that their purpose is supposed to fulfill them and not make them rich, we’ll see more purpose driven lives even if that purpose.

  3. commondenominator
    October 21, 2010 at 4:41 PM

    No problem.
    I agree with not getting rich off of your “purpose.” Some confuse the two. However, I don’t think just becuase you’re an adult means you can automatically snap your fingers and tap into self-motivation. Self-movtivation is a learned tool, I don’t think it just pops up when you hit 18. If you lack that “system” to get motivated then you may find yourself still in the cycle. You can only pray that someone comes along and notices your strengths and/or weaknessed and can help jump start your motivation …and hopefully amps you to “take chances.”

    • October 21, 2010 at 4:52 PM

      Nope, it won’t happen with a snap of a finger. It requires realizing that you have a problem first then putting in effort to fix it. Usually, that is how the weak is weeded out from the strong. Please don’t wait for someone to help you or you’re doomed. hahaha!

  4. commondenominator
    October 22, 2010 at 10:25 AM

    “Only the strong survive” I guess is what you’re referring too. The most important thing you said is “realizing you have a problem.” Just pray the “weak” are “strong” enough to “realize” they have a problem 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

