Home > I'm Just Saying... > Things Have Gotten Out of Hand…

Things Have Gotten Out of Hand…


I hope somebody has a solution because I sure don’t. It’s rare for me to be surprised by anything that happens in this world today. Things have really gotten out of hand. I know I harp on this a lot but why can’t things just be simple again? The biggest thing on our minds is “how to get this money”. And kids don’t know how to stay in their place and out of grown folk’s face because adults won’t put them in their place and now what we do is also what they do and our space is their space. What happened to “shut up, grown folks are talking, go play”.

I grew up in a time when you only had two choices and that was to stay in or out.
I grew up in a time when I saw my mama and daddy smile and laugh and dance with each and they still had time to sit in the stands and watch my basketball games.
I grew up in a time when it was abnormal for parents to sleep in separate beds, go to separate churches, and “look” like each other.
I grew up in a time when maybe none of that was really wrong but it was definitely different.
I grew up in a time that when the Atlanta child murders happened my brother and I couldn’t play outside for days even though we lived four hours away from Atlanta because hurting kids was so unheard of that my mama didn’t know what to think.
I grew up in a time when I got whoopings for getting a “C” because that meant that I only half-tried and science projects weren’t optional and prayer wasn’t offensive and milk was the only thing you drank at lunch and I got more attention for good grades than a good jump shot, or a pretty voice or for having long hair.

True enough, there are problems with some kids. Their attitudes suck, their work ethic is horrible and they don’t value anything unless it’s trendy. But that didn’t start with the kids, that started with those of us who are raising them and it’s a lot harder to fix grown folks.

Another two cents from ChUC…

  1. Hoodboi
    October 10, 2010 at 9:09 AM

    Couldn’t have said it any better…we’ve dropped the ball…parents today that is. Very good read!!

    • October 10, 2010 at 9:19 AM

      We used to have a template to follow. Some things were good and some things were not so good. Right now, we’re just winging it.

  2. Sando
    October 11, 2010 at 7:32 PM

    Hey ChUC,
    You hit the nail on the head!
    Hindsight is said to be 20/20 vision. So when we look back at our world 15 years ago and look at it now we see two different worlds. A good question to ask is did we get here, by natural progression or is there an unseen hand guiding us to a predetermined destination.

    We have been force-fed through the media and now we accept a lifestyle that’s different from the one we know. Gorge H. W. Bush announced in 1990 that a “New World Order” would replace the “Cold War” order. Since that time we have been, and continue to be herded towards an ultimate destination. Our reality is now a different one. Our moral values have been prescribed by unknown sources. But most of us are oblivious to the fact that we have a new and different reality.

    The result of our new reality is interesting:
    Everyone now tries to figure out “how to get this money”.
    Children have more rights than their parents.
    Many parents feel no “time obligation” to their children.
    It is now ok for parents to “look” like each other.
    Hurting kids is a normal occurrence, everyone from criminal to clergy participates!
    Science projects , prayer and milk are either optional or out of schools.
    The middle class is rapidly shrinking and we all want to be billionaires sooo freaking bad.

    Hummm…very valuable two cents ChUC!

    • October 14, 2010 at 7:11 PM

      Sando,
      You’re right! We are definitely living in a different world. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t expect for the world to stand still, but there are important tidbits of history and values that aren’t being passed down. Things changed when rock and roll and hip hop music became popular and people became a little less refined and more free. Times changed during women’s lib and the civil rights movements and people had the opportunity to experience new things, excel and even mess up in different ways. What in the world is changing the times now though? Maybe it’s or own self reliance, maybe its our insatiable love of money and fame, maybe it’s our constant need to be entertained or maybe it’s a mixture of it all. I don’t know. But something changed, that I know for sure.

  3. Gekko
    October 12, 2010 at 11:03 AM

    True, parents have dropped the ball over the years, but society makes it much harder now to raise a child. Even if they are “in” or “out”, you still have to monitor them more carefully these days. You need passwords on computers, restrictions on channels they can watch, and who knows what they are exposed too when their parents aren’t around. Society is just waaaay to free and easy today! Plus, toooo much money is being pumped into making society free and very easily accessible…I’m talking about technology. Everything a child wants to know is right at there fingertips. Not all technology advancements are a great invention, because everybody’s facebook page isn’t “PG.”

    I do think we have lost the idea “it takes a village to raise a child.” “If it ain’t my child, I don’t care,” is the attitude most have. So parents just need to do the best they can do! You can instill all the morals and values within your children, but at the end of the day, when you’re not around, just hope they make the right decision in whatever choices they have in front of them. Basically, that’s what it boils down too.

    ChUc and you’re right, you can’t fix grown folks, the problem is…some of them aren’t so “grown”.

    • October 14, 2010 at 7:25 PM

      Gekko,

      I think we need a “how to be grown” workshop don’t you!! Well, parents are crazy so I think three times before saying something to somebody’s child. I think that’s it! Technology has changed the world. It effects how we relate to each other. It effects how we think. It effects our values. Honestly, we don’t have to value anything. Now everything is replaceable, even people. I don’t know if I want to be around for the next change. I think my next post will be about THE CHANGE.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

