Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > Ain’t No Man Like the One I’ve Got…

Ain’t No Man Like the One I’ve Got…


Every soul that has breath wants to be loved
When you’re feeling down and without a friend
You need someone to be close and comforting
You want to hear, “you’re beautiful, you’re intelligent, you’re wonderful”
You want to know that everything he has, to you he’s offering

As we search for love
Or the being that may or may not complete us
Things can get crazy
You put your faith in someone you think is amazing
But time and time again they let you down, they’re not around
And when you need them they can’t be found
Because they’re human

Could it be…
That you haven’t tried the One
Who will protect and never break your heart
With him you’re never alone
He’ll hear your cries and dry your eyes
He’ll stand steadfast by your side

He gives his strength and his power unconditionally
When I’m feeling weak
He knows the words I want to say
Even when I cannot speak
He clears my path when I am lost and I cannot see
He made the greatest sacrifice for me

I learned the hard way
To put my trust in someone greater
Since then, no better love have I ever known
Honest and faithful he remains every time I call his name
No unanswered texts or callbacks
He’s always just a prayer from me
That’s why
Ain’t no man like the one I’ve got

Try him…

(Please hit the share buttons and forward to your friends!) ChUC

  1. Hoodboi
    September 14, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    I hear ya:-)

  2. MICHAEL BROWN
    September 14, 2010 at 10:38 PM

    JUST COMING THREW

  3. Marquita
    September 15, 2010 at 8:39 AM

    AMEN! AMEN! AMEN!

  4. September 15, 2010 at 10:58 AM

    Kimeko,

    I really dig this piece it feels like you wrote this sitting at the window pane gazing at the sky. I like the way you showing your love God in your own perspective. It’s also great on how you can reflect on God and still throw a lil jabs at men or friends from your past, with the line “no answered texts or call backs”, dope. Kimeko you have the voice of a storyteller and a voice of hope, love and sacrifice, and that all represents God. Great work lil homie!

    Dokk Savage!!!!!

    • September 15, 2010 at 11:07 AM

      Thanks Dokk! I try to learn by listening to you, Marc, Dwight, Remy, Joy and whomever else I can! This piece actually started off as a song I wrote for a gospel play a while ago. I re-edited it the other night and “Ain’t No Man” was the end result. I’m not man bashing 🙂 I just want people to understand that human relationships are needed but they are also flawed. God’s love for us is the only thing that’s perfect.

      Please hit the share buttons! (wink)

  5. September 15, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    Good sermon Chic. Does this mean I don’t have to go to church on Sunday?
    lol

    Keep up the good work!

    • September 15, 2010 at 12:29 PM

      You still have to attend all bible studies, gospel concerts and 2nd services between now and sunday night football 🙂

  6. ChiefGillespie
    September 15, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    You gotta love him!!!

  1. March 3, 2011 at 9:18 AM

Leave a Reply

