Home > ChUC's Rants & Philosophy > Soul Retreat

Soul Retreat


I closed my eyes just now and tried to imagine myself as the “future me”.  Not that I’m all that bad as I am but after a little self inspection we find there’s always room for improvement in one or two areas of our lives.  Having nicer attitudes, better health, solid finances, and more time for other people all lead to wonderful things right?  Of course, but what if we dug deeper and retreated from the needs of our skin and into the possibilities of our soul.  What difference could you make?  What accomplishments could you achieve?  What legacy could you leave?

I pictured myself three times.  Once standing in the middle of a crowded auditorium ranting and raving, another time with a small group of friends tee-hee’ing and ha-ha’ing and even one on one with a perfect stranger.  The who, why, when, where, and how many were really all irrelevant.  What mattered was the what.  What in the world was I doing??  Each time I was inspiring people and changing lives with my words, stories and faith.  Change was happening instantly and folks were believing, caring and prospering.  I was outside myself, beyond my faults, limitations, beliefs and circumstances.  My mind was like a CNN updates scroll.  I was reciting quotes from the greatest philosophers, humanitarians, ministers, writers and of course me because in this dream I was one of the great ones.  I needed to give myself permission to think it so the dream could possibly come into existence.  I’m sure some of you can relate.   At that very moment, everything I had learned, read, studied, and made it through came into play to serve God’s intended purpose for me.  It’s funny, the way we can put things into perspective after a simple dream or thought even when we’ve previously thought about it for months and months. 

Dream it, believe it, achieve it!

  1. Hoodboi
    September 1, 2010 at 2:49 PM

    Say dat! Great read:-)

  2. September 2, 2010 at 8:09 AM

    Great post and glad to see that you’re still in the blogging business. Everyone needs a Soul Retreat every now and then and I’m just honored to be a passenger for yours.

    R

  3. CR
    September 2, 2010 at 12:01 PM

    I see you back writing…great story!!! Keep up the good work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

