Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > Strong and Beautiful

Strong and Beautiful


Many birthdays passed before love came to see about me
It stayed away for so long
Insecurity became my company
I’ve cried out alone in darkness
Pillows mildewed with my tears
I’ve been ripped at the seam
But I’ve still persevered

The mirrow is a lie
I like the curves that reflect back at me
I don’t have to be a size 3
Or measure up to any image on TV
Now when I notice my reflection
I don’t squint my eyes at the sight
I’ve educated and elevated my mind
To my insides and outsides I’ve learned to be kind

I tell myself
I’m strong and beautiful and I draw my strength from within
I counsel myself
I’m strong and beautiful so I’m comfortable in my own skin
I embrace myself
I’m strong and beautiful because I know where I’m going and where I’ve been
To admit it isn’t a sin
I’m strong and beautiful
I’m strong and beautiful
The End

  1. Hoodboi
    July 24, 2010 at 3:54 PM

    That was a great poem! Your good at what you do….I can dig it…a lot!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

