Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > We All Lose

We All Lose


It didn’t take me long to realize that we all lose
And not the “mama, where’s my shoes?”,
Or the “Lebron’s gone y’all” type of lose
But the slobbering down the chin
Going half on a baby to feel rescued
Muddy Waters is wailing blues kind of lose.

Like thousands of Ghanaian children sold into slavery type of news – it’s wrong
A loved one’s body appears stiff and grows cold type of news – he gone
Not from being too old but from being too damn bold – for too long.

An unexpected phone call makes my arteries thick
The blood flows slowly to my brain – vessels constrict
Singing “Precious Lord” outside my range but scripture equipped
So I give the devil the middle finger and wonder whose ass I should kick
If I get to the hospital and don’t see a medical victory – quick.

Like hell’s gates the emergency doors were open wide
The rooms smelled Clorox-linen-clean-white and I cried
Because something just didn’t look right, it didn’t sound right, and it sure didn’t feel right
A lot of talking but the doctor’s weren’t saying anything finite.

The blankness of my stare implied,
“I don’t want to hear all that man, where’s my brother’s room?”
The info was Bittersweet, Fantasia-like, woo-woo-woo-woo-woo-woo
Ma’am, I’m sorry, there was nothing that we could do
Upon arrival he was already dead
Too much stress to his chest and trauma to his head.

Like a trailer truck on “10s” the floor couldn’t hold my feet
The walls couldn’t contain my screams or distinguish between my Mama and me
My mind, drenched in nightmarish images, got no respite from my retreat
Or from the miles and miles and more miles of tear soaked concrete.

See, we are wired to lose
Sometimes it’s a little like a teaspoon
Other times, like a ton it’s a lot
Even though I miss my brother unexplainably
The loss made me treasure what I’ve still got.

  1. Jamie
    July 13, 2010 at 8:53 AM

    OMG Kim this is my first time reading this and its been almost 4 years an it still hits me like a ton of bricks.. I LOVE HIM AND YOUR FAMILY SO MUCH. I MISS HIM MORE THAN WORDS CAN SAY.

    • July 13, 2010 at 9:32 AM

      Jamie, sometimes it seems like yesterday! Just keep getting stronger and take good care of those cutie pies! 🙂

  2. Chiefrocka
    July 13, 2010 at 10:20 AM

    When events like this happen you gotta have a good support system. I support you!

  3. Johnnie Wilson
    July 13, 2010 at 4:13 PM

    This is a very powerful and passionate piece. Read it 3 times. I love the way you flow with words. This touched my heart. Made me think, better yet, made me feel. As my good friend Dwight Pope says, “What comes from the heart, touches the heart.” Be blessed and be encouraged.
    Johnnie

    • July 13, 2010 at 4:20 PM

      Johnnie, Thank you so much for the kind words. I put my heart and a few tears into it so I’m extremely glad that you enjoyed the piece.

  4. Hoodboi
    July 13, 2010 at 7:22 PM

    What is there to say-WOW!!!

  5. July 14, 2010 at 12:39 PM

    ok I had to read it again..man this is too heart wrenching…however this experience as you re-live it makes you stronger. The lines you provided extracted the person who stayed inside too long now you are able to scream, shout, and write it in song. This is a powerful piece Kimeko. The Lord is working with you and by writing you are healing….and by healing you revealing yourself to the world.

    • July 15, 2010 at 8:55 PM

      Dokk, I’m finding that the hardest stories to tell are the ones that affect people the most. I know I’m not the only person who has dealt with death and the anger and frustration that comes with it. Hopefully, everyone sees that there is life after the pain.

  6. manwiththeplan
    July 14, 2010 at 1:52 PM

    Very good flow and feel, ChUC!

  7. Ju
    July 22, 2010 at 3:49 PM

    Wow! You’ve done it again. Here I was, just stopping by to see what’s new, and this is what I get. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again: you have a gift. I really hope I see one of your books out pretty soon.

    We have to make a deal. By the time I finish school, you have to have something published. I mean it. I will be the first one to buy that bad-boy!

    Damn! Great stuff! Just blow me away every time!

    • July 22, 2010 at 9:27 PM

      Hey Ju!
      I’m glad you stopped by and even more glad you liked the piece. Ummm, when do you graduate? Are we talking weeks, months or years? 🙂 You will be one of the first people I talk to when I finish any major project. I love your feedback.

      • Ju
        July 23, 2010 at 7:52 AM

        Well, I’ll finish my Masters in December and my PHD will take another 3 years. I should be done around 2013 — so you have little time. And if you get published before I finish, hey, that’s even better!

        Only thing I ask is when you become famous, don’t forget about us little people.

        Great blog!

      • July 23, 2010 at 12:01 PM

        I’m sure I can put something together by 2013. I could probably do something by December but more books would be on my office floor than in reader’s hands 🙂 Marketing and promotions is a beast I know nothing about. I’m impressed that you are pursuing a higher level of education. I hope your efforts are an inspiration to more people, especially our brothas!

        I will always be little people lol!

      • Ju
        July 26, 2010 at 7:09 AM

        Thanks for the kind words. I, too, hope I can someday make a difference. Lord knows I have some brothas who need inspiration.

        Catch you later.

  8. November 9, 2010 at 11:37 AM

    this one has got a sad intonation to it but i think your brother would be glad to know he had been immortalised by your writing- peace!

    • November 9, 2010 at 11:59 AM

      Fiveloaf,

      My brother was a writer/rapper long before I even thought about dabbling in poetry so I think he is quite pleased indeed. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  9. November 9, 2010 at 6:28 PM

    Thanks for linking with JP..

    dynamic and vivid word painting.
    keep it up.

    xxx

  10. November 10, 2010 at 4:05 AM

    Dear Kimeko
    Wow, we are wired to loose… I liked this verse and your powerful imagery… thanks for sharing…
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  11. Jingle
    November 10, 2010 at 8:34 AM
  12. November 10, 2010 at 9:08 AM

    my god! you are a genius with a pen! this is excellent writing! what a punch you pack!!!! bravo!

    • November 10, 2010 at 10:10 AM

      Wow, I’m blushing! Thanks for the kind words. They are so encouraging that maybe I’ll be more diligent in finding time to write more often. I’m glad you stopped by…

  13. November 10, 2010 at 11:18 PM

    great poem. it is refreshing to find a poet that puts themselves out there like this. your use of rhyme was excellent and the structure worked to keep me going and focused on the narrative. excellent job.

    • November 11, 2010 at 9:30 AM

      Thank you. I enjoyed the piece you posted during the rally and I look forward to reading your book. You’re very talented so your kind comments are really a boost to my ego 🙂

  14. November 14, 2010 at 4:45 AM

    Already read this twice, and after posting this comment, I think I’m going to read it again. The emotions here are so honest and raw. My god, I can almost feel the pain! I was choking back tears while I was reading it.

    I envy you this work because of its honesty and the vulnerability shown through your words, and I envy you for being a survivor.

    • November 17, 2010 at 11:30 AM

      Hey, thanks for stopping by and reading the poem. It was very therapeutic to write this poem even though it was four years after my brother’s death when I finished it. I appreciate your comments so much!

  1. March 3, 2011 at 9:18 AM

Leave a Reply

