Home > Spoken Word & Poetry > The Sky Cries For Me

The Sky Cries For Me


Isn’t it funny…
How we pick and choose what we want the world to see
I’m good at it
I smile pleasantly, so no one truly
Knows how bad I feel.

Isn’t it foolish…
How we pretend that everything is fine and under control
When it’s just make believe
Every turn I make takes me farther away
And I struggle through some days.

Isn’t it crazy…
How you’ll never know if I need a strong shoulder or helping hand
Because I keep it to myself
That’s just who I am
I won’t tell my closet friend.

Isn’t it silly…
How I have to be strong, I can’t be weak and I won’t break down
Then you assume
That my silence means I’m okay
So you don’t call to see about me today.

When I can’t hide my fears – no more
And my eyes won’t privately shed their tears – no more
Just in time, before I’m exposed and uncovered
Showers of rain begin to fall down all around me
The wind screams, the thunder roars and the sky cries for me.

  1. Chiefrocka
    July 8, 2010 at 1:23 PM

    Hey, I feel the same way! As a matter of fact, I’ve been told I’m that way. I never wear my feelings on my sleeve. I like the way you put that.

    • July 8, 2010 at 2:23 PM

      Wow, I think we’re the same person in different bodies! 🙂 It’s okay to be strong, tough and independent but we must realize that there is a limit to what we can handle on our own. And I do break down sometimes, but it’s usually in private where no one else can see it. hmmm, maybe that’s not good either but oh well…

  2. July 12, 2010 at 11:01 AM

    I think all men are raised to think… believe… and act that way from birth. Never let ’em see you cry!
    Some men are better at it than others… including myself. I guess it’s the Virgo in me.
    Keep up the good work!

    Richie

    • July 12, 2010 at 7:13 PM

      True. Nobody wants to see a whining man (crying because things aren’t going his way). But sometimes emotion from a man is refreshing. Go ahead Richie, show your softer side from time to time lol!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

