Home > I'm Just Saying... > You Must Not Know ‘Bout Me

You Must Not Know ‘Bout Me


When I’m in ChUC mode I try to be positive, informative, thought-provoking and helpful but sometimes I just want to vent before my blood pressure goes sky-high. I mean, I can only take so many milligrams of amlodipine besylate before I blow a vessel right? Any who, as a Black woman, currently there are 5 things that work my last nerve and it’s a clear indication that I watch way too much TV. Again, this is just for venting purposes but if you find real value in it that’s good too!

5) The Wendy Williams Show… I know that people, mostly women, love this show. I’ve tried to get into it but I guess I’m a different kind of female. The “pause, smack lips, umm, how you doing” routine makes me want to throw my remote at the TV. I don’t know why but it just irks me! (Note: I wish I had something more enlightening to say about it but I don’t so moving on to #4.)

4) Reality TV… True, there are a few shows that I would consider entertaining or beneficial but the bad definitely outweighs the good. Seriously, I can do without seeing Lisa Raye slobbing down her grown daughter, Pepa in a jacuzzi with the ‘sprayed on hair guy” or Ray J trying to sleep with every wanna be & out of work actress who signed up for his show. And can we get a Black Bachelor already! (Note: I do like to see Tiny interact with her father who has Alzheimer’s so I hope he gets better and my guilty pleasure will be watching Omarosa’s new show.)

3) Movies written by Tyler Perry… Okay, I can admit that I was one of the 1st to jump on the Madea band wagon and to also crack up at Brown’s excessively ashy knees but it doesn’t take long for one-dimensional characters to lose their appeal. The movies (beginning, middle and end) have become too predictable for my taste. I love to support us and I like to see us succeed but I can’t believe I paid good theater ticket money to see an awkward Tyler Perry romantic scene, Cicely Tyson’s hair looking like a gray rat’s nest and Patricia practically killing her husband and yet the happy ending was her hooking up with the Rock. WTH!! (Note: Death at a Funeral was a hot piece of cinematic crap too.)

2) McDonald’s commercials… Did you see the one with the couple in a cabin singing about the new dipping sauce? Oh my goodness!! It’s obvious that the marketing department didn’t get the weekly Black memo. It went something like this;

“Corporate America, herein and henceforth, under sound body and mind we do declare that it is utterly ridiculous and grossly negligent to lead the American public to think that we sing, rap, dance and turn flips during every moment of our lives; no matter how thirsty, hungry, excited, sad or frustrated we may be. We hereby request that you cease this portrayal of our people.” (Note: If I weren’t addicted to the fries I’d boycott.)

Drum roll please!!!!!!

1) FOX News… Do I really need to explain this one?? I hope not. Am I a Democrat? Yes. Do I agree with the views and agenda of every Democratic leader? No, of course not. Do I believe that either party has the answer to everything? Hell no! A conservative spin on every issue imaginable, which by the way makes me want to vomit in my morning oatmeal with blueberries, is rarely the best answer for every American. (Note: To stay informed about the views of others take a few gulps of pepto bismal and try to stomach a few minutes of a broadcast.)

  1. Hoodboi
    June 15, 2010 at 11:07 PM

    Now that was GANGSTA!

  2. Tima
    June 30, 2010 at 12:31 PM

    I agree. Although, I LOVE Wendy Williams on radio. The TV show is the pits. And it is time for Tyler Perry to step it up. The worst McDonalds commerial is the one with the Cha Cha Slide…

    • June 30, 2010 at 1:33 PM

      Hey Tima! You’re right! I think Wendy is a much better radio personality. Tyler Perry does seem to be a good producer but I really need him to work on his writing. I don’t think I’ve seen the Cha Cha Slide commercial thank goodness! Now I have to torture myself and search for it on youtube 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

