Home > ChUC's Rants & Philosophy > Lames vs. Real Men

Lames vs. Real Men


Can I talk about real men for a minute? Well, before we do that let’s talk about what has been passing as a real man. Just like we women had our period of liberation in the 60’s I think men are starting to have their own periods right now!  I can see why men fought women’s lib so hard. They were afraid of losing something and they actually did in some cases. They lost a servant, a yes person, and a willing spectator to their lives. Of course what they gained was far more valuable in my opinion. They gained a partner, a confidant, a fighter, a creator, a lover and a friend. Hmmm, a friend. Sounds good right? Where are the sexy, handsome, intelligent, funny/witty friends who are hell in bed?? If I knew I would have hooked him up with one of my single friends already!  So sorry, but you’re not alone if you’re currently finding men with a list of don’ts and doesn’ts. He doesn’t cook, he doesn’t cut grass and he doesn’t get serious about a woman that his boys know. He doesn’t date women with kids, women that wear a weave, women who make a lot of money, a woman who walks to the mailbox on Tuesdays or any other thing that sounds just as ridiculous. Oh, but he will sleep with you if you’re fine. A snowstorm in July won’t stop that. Let’s see, other things that real men don’t do. They don’t watch any movies or TV shows that aren’t full of guns, death, drugs, and booties as big as Texas. A real man doesn’t do counseling, he doesn’t do religion, and he doesn’t put ho’s before bros. Oh, and they don’t read – period. A sample conversation goes like this:

“Hey ChUC.  What’s been up?”

“I’m reading a wonderful book on Capitalism in America. It’s very eye opening. I’ll let you borrow it when I’m done.”

“No thanks. I don’t read.”

WTF!! There are millions of people in the US that can’t read but these real men just don’t read. There are no caveats like, I don’t read biographies but I read fiction, or I try to read when I can but it’s hard to find time lately, or I read the newspaper on Sundays but I don’t get into novels. Say anything other than “I don’t read” because that just pisses me off to the highest level of pisstivity.

So Ladies, if you’re a chic under construction like me, you are so over the pitiful excuses of real men. See, the real men and the women who love them refer to the men I like as “lames”. They don’t understand him or appreciate him. Say what you want to about a lame but that’s the real man for me. He makes sure that home is straight before he buys anything for himself. A real man won’t do that because he’s spoiled and selfish. The lame will read with you or even to you at night. Lawd have mercy! The real man doesn’t read remember. That lame will massage your scalp with Luster’s Pink Oil Moisturizer and tweeze the hair from your chin. A real man doesn’t want to be bothered with that shit. He wants to see you when you’re camera ready. A lame will cook dinner, pick up the kids, wash clothes (everybody’s, not just his) and try to find ways to keep you relaxed and happy. A real man will walk straight to his man cave after work and surf the net until you tell him dinner is ready. Ladies don’t be mistaken and lames don’t get cocky because lames aren’t perfect. You may have to deal with a crooked tooth or two but trust me; the better he treats you the straighter that tooth will start to look. So reconstruct your thoughts on the real man and let me know how it goes. I have and I’m loving it.

Blog ya next time!

The Original ChUC – Chick Under Construction

  1. May 30, 2010 at 8:34 PM

    Well there are real men left in this world.Most of us are ducking pot shots from real women who are so sick and tired of what seems to pass for men these days,we are tired of being the collateral damage form these pot shots.We’re alive and well and yes we lost a few things to women’s lib but gained so much more.So if you want to meet a real man you are just going to have to look real hard to find one in this messed up modern world..Loved the blog but ya know I just had to get my two cents in.Oh one last thought most of us real men have been snapped up by some great real women so yup the pickins are getting a little slim….

    • June 2, 2010 at 3:15 AM

      Thanks for reading my post! I’m new at blogging but it feels good toshare some of my thoughts.

      I hope everyone finds their “true real man”!

  2. Successful Man In Training
    June 3, 2010 at 11:09 PM

    I enjoyed your comments concerning “Lames”. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts. I recall many years of watching good women chase Thugs and Abusers. When I’d inquire why they would choose a so-called “Bad Guy” for a “Good Guy”, the consensus was that “Good Guys” are boring while “Bad Guys” present a sense of adventure.

    For this reason, many years went by where many women passed me over for the “Thug For Life” brothers I played pick-up basketball with. Now these are the same women today who are divorced, or still single, been abused, and have no idea what it feels like to be truly loved; or even held in loving arms for that matter.

    Now the brother who was looked over because he didn’t choke a sister (unless that’s what she wants…heh heh heh), and because he always got a book in his hand, and because he was studying for a college class every night instead of hanging out every night at a house party is now the brother in their latter years they wish was their soul mate.

    Note to sisters…just because a brother is civilized in public, doesn’t mean he’s not a BEAST in bed!

    • June 4, 2010 at 8:20 AM

      Successful Man In Training, thanks for your thoughts! They were awesome. There are many chicks under construction who are trying to get “man picking” right. Unfortunately, lots of us have liked the so called bad boy at some point in our life. I know I have but I grew out of that phase, eventually 🙂 Keep checking in!

  3. "E"
    June 4, 2010 at 9:48 AM

    While you discussing LAME Men. Can you spend a little time on this guys that run around the city and get on Facebook. Talking about how much money they spend in the club, and what size rims they have, or how many pairs or Red Monkey jeans they have in the closet. And yet these same men have not paid child support or seent their kids in about ever.

  4. June 11, 2010 at 2:13 PM

    Peace,

    I dig the article very enlighting on how you view Real vs Lame men. I think the title grabs you because the so call real men will be so mesmerized by the title and only to realize that you are talking about them. However, I used to be that real man when I was a young cat. I’m not going to lie just to get a rep or brownie points. I believe that a brother has to have the eagerness to grow and be mature about their techinques when it comes to sisters. I mean I love reading and exploring, always have. But back in the day I thought it was soft to let sisters know that you read outside of the university’s class room. I’ve learned over the years that it was cool better yet great to let sisters know you are well read or can converse on any topic. I don’t know if I would use the term “Lame”, however I am that brother that makes sure the crib is cared for before I spend on myself. I make sure the wife and seeds have what they need before I do any spending, except for tithing because God comes first. If brother doesn’t take care of home before checking with the homies then the sister will be checking for that “Lame”. Its not an overnight thing, it takes growth and the eagerness to learn. I will say I will do anything for the wife by providing her with the needs and wants. However it has to work both ways. Because there are “Real Women” and “Lames” out there as well, Lol. Nice blog Meko..Keep at it!!

    • June 11, 2010 at 6:44 PM

      Thanks for the response! You’re right, it does take maturity to step up to the plate and be a true real man or real women. But if we want some things to change we have to be willing to talk about what we have gone through and teach others what we know. That’s why I respect your comments so much. I really feel that no one I come in contact with should have to learn a lesson the hard way if I’ve already gone through it. Oh, unfortunatley I had to use “lames” to get folks attention but it helped to make my point. I know I don’t have to say it but keep taking care of your family and yourself! 🙂

  5. Cease
    June 15, 2010 at 2:43 PM

    Well, well, said…..if I had the time, I would say more…but, well said ChuC…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

